“Live”

"LIVE"

“Live” my theme word, my mantra, my resolution for 2009. Not live as in meaning to survive, or simply exist and go through the motions, but to live as passionately, authentically and creatively as possible. I’m currently reading the the Diary of Anais Nin (Volume One) and her writing resonates with me…

“You live like this, sheltered, in a delicate world, and you believe you are living. Then you read a book…or you take a trip…and you discover you are not living, that you are hibernating. The symptoms of hibernating are easily detectable: first, restlessness. The second symptom (when hibernating becomes dangerous and might degenerate into death): absence of pleasure. That is all. It appears like an innocuous illness. Monotony, boredom, death.  Millions live like this (or die like this) without knowing it.” -Anais Nin

I feel certain I’ve fallen into some phase of this hibernation. Travel, while a a favorite remedy of mine, is only a temporary cure. It’s the day to day meaningful experiences, deep relationships and being creative that make me feel truly alive.  So, that’s my goal for the new year, to bring more of those things into my life, to awaken, to live fully and authentically, and, as Anais Nin writes “search for the marvelous.”

This blog is part of my search, part of my cure, a place to share with others, creations, thoughts and inspirations.

As part of bringing more creativity into my daily life I’ve decided to take on the Creative Every Day 2009 challenge hosted by artist Leah Piken Kolidas.  In her December 30th blog Leah passes on an inspired idea from Christine Kane, who suggests picking a single word to guide you through the year, the Resolution Revolution.

Today, thinking about my theme word  I decided to spell it out with photographs,  hunting for letter shapes in my surroundings, exploring the city and “play”fully (the theme of the month) challenging myself to see things around me in a different way. May not have been the best idea since I’m sick with a head cold right now, and it was awfully chilly and gray out there, but I did manage to get my four letters photographed before the rain came pouring down and I had to scurry my sick self back to warmth and shelter.

~ by eyefulfrance on January 10, 2009.

10 Responses to ““Live””

  1. Wonderful!!

  2. amazing and wonderful what you have photographed to spell out your word. I see both Live and Love (top of the lightpole for O)
    Love to Live! Live to Love! Both work for me.
    Enjoy Life!!!!

  3. Beautifully done, and beautifully expressed. The letters seem to go together, as if they were long lost relatives. The color scheme you chose/created and the confident cropping tie them all together.

    I hope you can really turn up the “living” every moment of 2009.

  4. Just awesome!!!

  5. Ahhhh Gorgeous!!! And…your words, how expressive and honest. Gorgeous!!

    Peace & Love.

  6. An amazing collage. Janet

  7. Wonderful and inspiring

  8. bravo! clever, and brilliant!

  9. It turned out beautifully!

  10. I like it alot, words, letters and photography…

Leave a comment